Latest updates

42nd Annual Conference update
The 2016 IAEA Annual Conference is to be hosted by UMALUSI, the Council for Quality Assurance in General and Further Education in South Africa. The conference dates are August 21-26, 2016 and the location is Capetown, South Africa.

Conference theme: Assessing the Achievement of Curriculum Standards – An Ongoing Dialogue.
For more information, visit the conference website at

From the IAEA Executive Secreatry
The IAEA 2016 elections have concluded and below are the results.

For the election of Board member, 17 votes were cast. The outcome was that Dr Joyce Ndalichako was the successful candidate.  However, it emerged after the election that the President of the United Republic of Tanzania had appointed Joyce to the position of Minister for Education, Science, Technology and Vocational Training. Due to her new responsibilities, she was unable to take up her appointment to the IAEA Board of Trustees.
Because the candidate elected by the vote of the IAEA membership was unable to serve, the Board unanimously decided to call for a run-off election between the two remaining candidates. The purpose of the run-off was to ensure that the elected Board member was chosen by a majority vote, which neither of the two remaining eligible candidates received in the first election round. For the run-off, the 17 IAEA Full Institutional members who used their right to vote in the first round were asked to participate because most of their votes were unintentionally cast for an ineligible candidate. The run-off gave all of those who voted the opportunity to change their selections to the remaining candidate of their choice.  

Of the 17 members qualified to participate in the run-off, 9 members exercised their right to vote. The candidate who received the majority vote was Dr Olatunde Aworanti from Nigeria.  Our congratulations are extended to the successful candidate on his election to the Board of Trustees of IAEA.  Dr Randy Bennett and Dr Anat Ben-Simon were unopposed and hence have been appointed as President and Vice President respectively. 

The SSAC Digital Examination Production and Audit System in Azerbaijan
In 2012, the State Students Admission Commission (SSAC) of Azerbaijan developed a Digital Examination Production and Audit System (DEPAAS). The main objective of DEPAAS is to improve the quality of printed materials, to produce personalized test books for each test taker, packed according to testing rooms and test centers. Fully automated production assures accuracy of entire test printing process. The system was tested in 2014 and firstly used in low-stake exams. Starting from 2015, DEPAAS started to be implemented almost for all SSAC’s exams and about 600.000 test books were printed via this system. 
Read more and watch a presentation of DEPAAS during the 2015 Canon Expo in Paris

IAEA 2016 Frances M. Ottobre Distinguished Student Scholarship
The IAEA 2016 Frances M. Ottobre Distinguished Student Scholarship will support attendance at the 2016 IAEA conference to be held in Cape Town, South Africa, from August 21-26.
The deadline for receipt of scholarship applications is February 30, 2016. continue reading...

IAEA 2015 Frances M. Ottobre Distinguished Student Scholarship
Che Yee Lye, a graduate student at the School of Education, University of Adelaide, has been awarded the 2015 IAEA Frances M. Ottobre Scholarship. The scholarship supports attendance at the 2015 IAEA conference to be held in Lawrence, Kansas, from October 11-15, 2015, at the Kansas Union. Congratulations, Che Yee!

From the IAEA Executive Secretary

The nominations for the positions that will be vacant from 1 January 2015 on the IAEA Board of Trustees were: 
- Anat Ban Simon from NITE as a Full Member Organisation representative 
- John Pitman as A Full Individual Member representative, the newly established position as per the changes to the Constitution, approved at the AGM in Tel Aviv in 2013. 
The Nominating Committee has checked the status of the nominees and both are members of IAEA in good standing.  There were no other nominations and hence there is no need for an election.  Hence they are appointed as members of the Board of Trustees and assume office on 1 January 2015.  The Board of Trustees thanks them for their willingness to serve IAEA in this capacity and congratulates them on their appointment.


The IAEA does not accept responsibility for any costs resulting from a conference participant who having registered, for whatever reason, does not attend an IAEA conference or any other event held under the auspices of IAEA.